Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Share |


With 21 committees, it's EASY for like-minded members to share interests!

In fact, serving as a member of one of the various committees offers tremendous opportunities for growth. For example, attorneys can:


  • PARTICIPATE in the development and maintenance of SABA's webpage (Technology committee)
  • WORK with judges and other attorneys to improve the efficiency and performance of the county court system, gaining valuable knowledge while doing so. (County Courts committee)
  • HELP plan and organize the annual Judge Anees A. Semaan Criminal Law seminar. (Criminal Law committee)
  • PARTICIPATE in the development of local rules (District Courts committee)
  • HEAR and decide fee disputes between attorneys and clients (Fee Dispute committee)
  • SERVE as an investigator and advocate for fellow attorneys involved with disputes with physicians (Medical-Legal Liason committee)
  • INVESTIGATE and prosecute complaints against individuals practicing law without a license (Unauthorized Practice of Law committee)

Are you already a member of the San Antonio Bar Association?
Would you like to get more involved?
SCROLL to the bottom of this page to SIGN UP for one or more of our active COMMITTEES!


Civil District Courts

Chair: Jeff Akins
The District Courts committee addresses issues of concern to the judiciary and the attorneys who practice in District Court. 

Community Justice Program Golf Tournament

Chair: Allan DuBois

The Community Justice Program Gold Tournament committee plans and conducts the annual CJP gold tournament. 

Community Justice Program Pro Bono

Chair: Stephen Darling

The Community Justice Program Pro Bono Committee coordinates pro bono service opportunities and fundraising. 

Community Relations/Media Response

Barry Beer
The Community Relations committee educates the public and builds public trust in the legal profession by serving as a liaison between attorneys and the public. 

Continuing Legal Education

Chair: Judge Larry Noll
The Continuing Legal Education Committee plans and executes continuing legal education seminars. 

County Courts

Chair: Steven B. Treu
The County Courts Committee works with various judges and attorneys to improve performance and efficiency in both civil and criminal matters of the county court system. 

Criminal Law & Procedure

Chair: John Ritenour

The Criminal Law Committee promotes the practice and education of defense attorneys, prosecutors and judges in our local criminal justice system. Plan and produces the A.A. Semaan Criminal Law Institute. 

Federal Courts

Co-Chair: Leslie Hyman
Co-Chair: James Hoffman

The Federal Courts Committee assists the federal courts in addressing the problems and challenges facing the deferral judiciary and makes recommendations for improving the federal court system. 

Fee Dispute

Point of Contact: Christina Tovar, 

Chair: Gilbert Vara, Jr.
The Fee Dispute committee resolves fee disputes between attorneys and their present/former clients. Arbitration panel consists of attorneys and members of the public. 

J.P. & Municipal Courts

Chair: Craig Noack

Co-chair: Tammy L. Wincott

This committee reviews the operation of the JP and Municipal Courts.

Law Day

Chair: Judge Ed Prado
The Law Day committee plans and promotes Law Week activities, which include activities designed to educate the public about its rights and responsibilities in the legal system.

Law School

Co-Chair: Reed Greene
Co-Chair: Faye Bracey


Serves as a liaison between SABA and law schools. 


Lawyer Referral

Chair: Dustin Whittenburg

The Lawyer Referral Committee assists the the San Antonio Bar Association's Lawyer Referral Service in improving the availability and quality of legal services offered by LRS. 


Chair: Gary Hutton

Advises the Bar and Bexar County Commissioners on operation of the Bexar County Law Library.

Medical/Legal Liaison

Chair: Brian C. Steward
The Medical Legal Liaison Committee focuses on issues jointly impacting medical and legal professions. A joint commission of the SABA and Bexar County Medical Society.


Co-Chair: Richard Loza

Co-Chair: William "Doug" Bineham

Observes trends in membership to continually develop new and innovative ways to draw new members and to address the static and changing needs of current membership. 


Christine Reinhard

Organizes the monthly group mentoring programs focused on practice areas, professionalism and ethics. Potential mentees and mentors should ask the chair about how to get involved by sending an email to Christine Reinhard at

Military Liaison

Chair: Natalie Wilson
Promotes professional and social interaction between active duty military legal officers and the Bar.


Co-Chair: Jane Macon
Co-Chair: Dawn Bruner Finlayson
The Program committee selects speakers for the monthly Bar Association luncheons (not including the Law Day Program).


Chair: Sara Murray
Vice-Chair: Pat Autry
The Publications committee serves as the editorial board for the Bar's bimonthly magazine, the San Antonio Lawyer, and the Bar's monthly newsletter, the Subpoena

Unauthorized Practice of Law
Chair: Steve Cennamo

Investigates complaints of practicing law without a license. Committee established by Texas Legislature. Names will be sent to the State Bar of Texas. 




© 2004-2015 San Antonio Bar Association. All rights reserved. Navigation bar images by Hugh Leighton McWilliams Photography.

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal